Question for the runners here

I have been running 3 days a week now for about 6 months on a treadmill. For the last month it is about 3 miles each time I run, so overall I would say I have put 200-300 running miles on these shoes. How do I tell if I need new running shoes? The ones I have look fine–but I don’t want to get to the point where I might hurt myself because of my shoes. There doesn’t appear to be tread wear on the sole, they still feel firm and in good shape, a little dirty, but how do you tell when they need to be replaced? I run with my orthotic in the shoes so I have good support and they feel fine.

I have Asics Gel-Foundation Plus (TN410) running shoes now–but looking on their website it appears they don’t manufacture them anymore. I got them from a running store about six months ago, guess I need to go back there for a new shoe recommendation. I thought about just picking another shoe from their site but that seems risky to me, as when I bought these ones the guy had me run on the treadmill to see how they worked on me.

So the question I guess is before I spend $100-150 for new shoes–how do you tell when you need them?

Depends on your weight, foot movement(pronation), running style and/or foot plant. Rule of thumb, about 300-500 miles.YMMV :smiley: The midfoot foam will feel hard and a bit compressed compared to a new shoe. It’s really hard to see visually unless they’re really worn. Sometimes you can see the structure of the shoe tip to the inside if you overpronate badly and you don’t have a suitable shoe.

Also, the foam material hardens by itself with time so don’t try to save money on that 2 year old pair on sale.

ETA: Go back to that store for a new recommendation. Having a store that knows how to do that is GOLD.