Question on grading of collectibles

I’ve looked at various sites that offer grading services for things like sports memorabilia or trading cards.
The grading and payment process confuses me and it’s couched in how they describe it.

So here’s an example (numbers here are made up).
Say I have a Reggie Jackson rookie card. Various catalogs value a highest grade card @ $25,000. A low grade is $120.
I want it graded. According to the grading service sites, my fee is based on the card’s estimated value. I think this is ridiculous. I am not an expert, so I might assume my card is grade 10 card, and so I would need to pay the highest rate for grading. But me, being an amateur, I don’t notice the small crack in the card’s paint that an anal collector would shudder at thus bringing the rating down to a 4. So I paid a big fee for nothing.
This process should not be a crap shoot.

Questions:
Do I submit the card saying I think it’s a 10, get told it’s a 4, and pay a high fee for that fact.
Do I submit the card saying i think it’s a 4, get told it’s a 4 and consequently pay a much lower fee.
Bonus: suppose I really have a grade 10, but am uncertain so do I submit it as a 4, pay the low rate, and get the 10 rating?

Here’s what one company does.

Q: What happens if my Declared Value is understated?