Questions about installing a gas cooktop

Hi Everyone

We are changing the electric cooktop over to a gas unit. Finally got around to picking it up, etc.

For the installation, I will of course get the gas company out here. However, it also requires a 110v cord and plug for the igniters. Of course, there is service inside the cabinet for the current electric unit, but that is 220v. I am trying to decide whether I should bring in a new outlet and remove/shut down the old 220v circuit, or if I should use the existing 220v box, wiring, etc. and convert it to 110v. (I am not an electrician, but I am a reasonably capable DIYer and have added circuits, pulled wires, etc many times in the past). Obviously the current 220v circuit has more wires than the 110v would use. However, given its location and the unfinished basemet, pulling those out and replacing them with 12-2 would be easy to do.

On the other hand, I would then have an appliance rated for a max draw of 5A on its own circuit, which seems silly.

Any thoughts? Also, does anyone know what code might say about this? I am in NH if that matters.

Thanks!

Oops!

Looks like I forgot to put in a thread title! Should have been “Questions about installing a gas cooktop”

Oops! I sent a report to the mod by clicking the red triangle next to the post number. They should be able to fix it. You can report your own posts, if you ever need to.

Title added.

Does the oven really draw 5A? It’s just running the electronics igniters and the oven light.

It should be perfectly fine to re-use the box, though I would run new wiring to the box. There should be no problem tapping off of an existing circuit, if it’s closer than the breaker box. Do you have a vent hood above the stove? That might be a convenient power source.

OTOH, putting in a new box for the 110v outlet will give you flexibility in the future to put in an electric stove, and would save you the trouble of disconnecting the 220v line.