Re-capping an old audio amplifier... help me find these caps!

Now I’m finally getting down to starting my restoration project I mentioned in my thread about getting a good multimeter.

I am an electronics noob, so I have no idea what to do about these 1960s sizes that seem to be rare these days.

Some Googling has given me a few thoughts:

1. Voltage can always be larger with no harm
  2. Capacitance can always be larger for filter caps
  3. If you stay within 20% of capacitance either way, you ought to be fine on other electrolytics :face_with_raised_eyebrow:

I’m cool with the voltage size, as that is a more of a limit.
What I’m not clear on is whether I really will be fine swapping in a 4.7uF cap for a 4uF cap, or a 150uF cap for a 130uf cap.

In searching the various parts sites, I see that they often have the specified values but they are either rare or expensive or both, so I definitely don’t want to pay $50 for a part that won’t ship until next summer.

For the record, here’s the parts list:

Amplifier:
4uF 15v (7)
10uF 15v (1)
50uF 12v (1)
50uF 6v (3)
100uF 35v (2)
130uF 25v (5)
200uf 6v (1)
1200uF 35v (1)
1300uF 50V (1)

Timer unit:
10uF 15V (1)
2000uF 25v (1)

Schematic & parts list from the other thread (that I just spent way to much time failing to follow everything):
http://www.groenenberg.net/download/manuals/Seeburg/manuals/81-495438.pdf

These guys have some of the weird capacities (looking at you, 4uF) or close at least.

https://www.justradios.com/cart.html

You’ve already posted your answer: 4.7 is less than 4.8, (20%) and is bigger than 4.

Generally, a capacitor is specified as small as it can be, to fit into space and budget. And had to be small enough to get the voltage rating you wanted. So going bigger is not a problem.

The problems you can get by going bigger are probably not an issue with a Seeburg background music system anyway.