Re: Should You Sign The Back of Your Credit Cards?

On http://www.straightdope.com/mailbag/mcredit.html you state definitively that signing your credit cards is a bad idea. If anything, you should write “ASK FOR PHOTO ID” in the name field.

Excuse me, but this is bullshit.

I am an operations manager working at Sears. Credit card policy is to not accept the card unless it is signed by the cardholder. This is also every single credit card company’s policy. Notice looking on the back of any credit card that exists it says in tiny letters “NOT VALID UNLESS SIGNED.” This entire “not signing the card” thing is an urban myth. In fact, writing “ASK FOR PHOTO ID” on the back of your card VOIDS the card, because it is clearly not a valid signature.

While encouraged to compare signatures against the one of the back of the card, the associates often do not. This security method is very feeble i’ll admit. However, policy is policy and any retail store is not to accept the card or complete any transaction using the card until it is signed.

Paul Morgan
Let me raise another argument, if you don’t sign the card, what prevents the thief from signing your signature himself? Since signing a card gives him a perfect copy of your signature, why not let him sign your signature for you? Sounds like an excellent idea to prevent fraud. Even if you call the card issuer and notify them of the fraud, the thief already has the merchandise and now you’re stuck attempting to recover what money was stolen.

If preventing credit card fraud was as easy as “not signing the back of the card”, the issuing companies wouldn’t have bothered to put it there in the first place, or would have removed it from future cards. We live in a day and age where a six year old can steal your money just as easily as a 40 year old master thief. All it takes is a computer, a 16 digit code and an expiration date.