Recommend a book on Windows Development

OK. I’m a dyed-in-the-wool Unix developer/DBA who doesn’t know a thing about Windows but is starting to think he should. Most of my professional career so far has been Common Lisp, Java, PL/SQL, and C on Solaris and Linux.

I’m not really interested in “learning a language” or learning to program (although I’d like to use C++ on Windows just to brush up my skills in the language…); it’s the “Windows API” that I’m clueless about and am looking for a good book on. The problem is, there’s a LOT of books on windows development out there, many oriented towards beginners.

Anyone have any suggestions? Normally when I want to learn something new I just read the documentation and expirement, but this is a pretty big jump from what I’m used to…

Do you want to do MFC/COM or .NET? IMHO, MFC programming is a horrible nightmare and requires major brain surgery to do right. .NET is really nice and clean and hides away all the MFC stuff and makes it a breeze to figure out. However, MFC is slightly more compatible and widespread and occasionally, even if you are working in .NET, the MFC under the hood pokes out so it might be worthwhile learning it anyway.

.NET, I learnt in about 2 days just playing around with Visual Studio, theres not really much to learn to get started.

Both, I think. I’m not exactly sure about what .NET is though–is it just a more cleanly designed API, or is it something more, like a virtual machine or a runtime? If .NET is implemented on top of MFC, and MFC is the interface that’s the “closest” to the operating system, I’d want to learn it even if I didn’t end up learning it extensively.