Recommend a full sized SUV to me

I’m currently eyeing the Volvo XC90. Looks pretty cool.

I want something in the $50K range or less, and am willing to go used to get there (preferably not more than a couple years). Must seat 7 and rear seating must fold completely flat.

Hyundai Palisade/Kia Telluride.

VW Atlas.

I have been researching for a couple of months, looking to replacing my aging 2007 Lexus RX. Here’s my personal take:

Japanese models continue with their reputation of reliability over European makes. That said: I love the XC90’s looks and features, and as much as I love Lexus (I’m on my third), I HATE the new styling.

If not an RX (which isn’t full-size for your purpose), the one I’m seriously considering is the Acura MDX. Not quite as “luxury” as the Lexus, but larger and peppier.

In third place are Mazda CX-9 and Subaru Outback. A cow-orker is on his third Mazda, and his 2011 CX-9 looks and rides like new. I think a review I read said something like “90% of the luxury for 70% of the price”. I also like the look of the Outback (my boss drives one), but Subaru seems to lag behind other Japanese makes in reliability (that’s my impression, at least).

IF I were to get a used XC90, I would do so through CarMax or some other shop that had good quality, affordable warranties. I’d probably do the same with any European make.

All the vehicles I’m considering are ~2015 models around $25,000.

You say used, so I’ll give you this based on my several year old experience with these trucks. I’ve rented a 2016 (or so) Chevy Suburban, a 2014 or earlier Ford Expedition XLT, and a 2015 or later Expedition XLT. They will all easily seat 7 and still have cargo space. The seats electrically fold flat, at least on the trim levels I had.