Recurring dreams...or dreams of the same theme...

Anyone else experienced this before?

I kept having dreams about the same thing. To go on, I have to tell you something about me - I have already graduated from a tertiarty insutition, a polytechnic of sort. In my dreams, the same theme occurs over and over again - I somehow gave up my certificate, went back to High School (or secondary school…) to study and hopes to get a better O’level.

The strange thing is the dream is not the same all the time, but the premise remains the same. I also have dreams that seems to be a series of espiodes. Are there any scientific studies on such dreams?

Thanks in advance.

I have that dream (and/or variations of it) all the time! My school district finds some technicality and says “you didn’t really graduate from high school. You’ll have to come back.” But I protest: “But I’m a college graduate! Even if you rescind my high school diploma, my college degree still holds. You can’t negate that, too!” The principal replies, “Like hell I can’t. We’re the public school system, we can do whatever we want. Come get registered or I’ll call the truant officer.” And then I’m right back in class, a 32-year-old man amongst teenagers, embarassed out of my gourd.

I know of no scientific studies of such dreams. Any psychologist will tell you that dreams mean next to nothing; at the worst they mean that you may have some unresolved issues.