Refrigerator's in-door ice/water dispenser isn't working

I have this new-to-us GE refrigerator. It has an in-door water/ice dispenser. Model # is GSS25WGMCWW. The control panel on the door has gone out me for the second time in a month. The owner’s manual does not have any troubleshooting suggestions for this.

The first time, we called a repairman, but he didn’t show up when he was supposed to, so I started playing with things, unplugging the machine, emptying the ice container, and who knows what else. Nothing happened. I walked away from the refrigerator and came back about half an hour later and the thing was working.

It worked fine for about a week and a half. Now the thing has died again. I tried to do everything I did last time, but it’s still not working.

The ice maker still makes ice. The control panel doesn’t have a lock out button, like some other models have. I can’t think of anything we did to cause it to lock itself out, but that’s possible. It seems to me that each time I just walked up to it and noticed is was off. None of the control panel buttons work, lights are out, and it won’t dispense water or ice.

If anyone has any suggestions before I go call another repairman, I would greatly appreciate it.

Well, those things are notoriously unreliable, so sez Consumer Reports. If you’re handy, you might try taking it apart and looking for loose connectors. And if you’re at that level of handiness, you can also just try replacing the parts yourself. These guys seem to carry the parts you’d need, probably for about the same amount of money it’ll take just to get the repairman to your front door.

The intermittant aspect of your complaint makes me first suspect the wiring harness, particularly at the pivot point. Typically you will find this beneath the upper hinge cap and there should be a small molded connector there to permit complete door removal. Depending on the options present, there should be anywhere from three to six conductors.