Rented 4WD rolls off ferry. Whose fault was this?

Story and video here

4WD falls off barge on way to Fraser Island, sinks

The vehicle brake does not appear to be on but shouldn’t the ferry have the rear gate up? Who is at fault here?

I have no legal background, but I would saw the drivers are responsible.

IMO, the driver was responsible for not setting the parking brake. The ferry crew is responsible for A) not chocking the wheels; and B) failing to close the ramp.

Since the ferry was under way, and the crew neglected to raise the ramp, I would probably assign responsibility to the ferry crew. They’re there to make sure vehicles don’t fall into the ocean, even when drivers do silly things. That is, the knew, or should have known, that people don’t set their brakes.

The one ferry I’ve been on they never blocked the wheels on any of the cars, and I don’t think the ramp was ever fully up, just at a slight angle, like it appears in the video.

I have been on quite a few car ferry crossings, never did they chock the wheels. They did insist on setting the e-brake, perhaps if you could not they would chock them.

The ferryman cannot personally and physically verify that every car’s hand brake has been set by the driver. There are signs conspicuously placed notifying drivers to set their brake. If a driver doesn’t do that, he is liable for the consequences. The same as if he parked in a shopping mall and didn’t set his brake and his car rolled away.

I once bought a used van, on which the previous driver had replaced the transmission and didn’t install a lockout. I once forgot to put it in park when I shut it off, and when I got out go to into McDonalds, the van started to roll. It was a scary moment scampering back into the drivers seat of a Newtonian van. Guess whose fault that was? Not McDonalds.

The driver, primarily. But I wonder if drivers were instructed, through signage or verbally from the crew, to set the parking brake.