Rimworld: old west meets sci-fi

I’ve been playing Rimworld recently. It’s currently in alpha but very playable.

The concept of the game is you’re in charge of colonists who crash land on a planet. You give them tasks, such a growing plants, taming animals, hunting, etc. There’s a lot of options. If someone raids your base you can harvest their organs and sell them on the black market or you can resort to cannibalism.

The RNG gods are angry, sometimes, so you can get royally screwed. I lost a game because a hare went rabid, took out my doctor, he went rabid and took out my best hunter, then I got raided and a fire spread. I get tinges of FTL.

I found the game after watching Quill18’s playthrough.

Definitely sounds like a bad hare day.

Yeah I’ve been enjoying Quill18’s playthrough too. Haven’t got the game yet.

:smiley:

Looks awesome. Wonder why I haven’t heard of it before.

I have been playing for a few months. It is still in Alpha, but extremely playable, and it keeps getting better. I got attacked by a hoard of rabid warthogs yesterday. Like 40 of them. Luckily my base is almost entirely inside a mountain(protection from acid rain, and flash storms). I just hung out indoors until my automatic gun emplacements took them out, but they destroyed several guns. I have also been out hunting deer, and the deer get pissed and chase me back to my base.

Bump

The game has just been released on Steam. It’s still in Early Access but it’s immensely playable, has tons of mods (which the develop supports), and only keeps getting better.