Rinsing/gargling with warm salt water?

As I mentioned in another thread, I have an abscessed tooth, (which I’m DEFINITELY taking care of, never fear), but one thing puzzles me-what’s the deal with rinsing with warm salt water? What is it about the salt that helps?

My dad used it too when he got his dentures earlier this year, and when I had my wisdom teeth out, I was told to use it. I’ve also been told that gargling with warm salt water helps a sore throat.

What gives?

A mild antispectic? I don’t know. All I know is that I always gargle with salt water whenever I have sore throat and I find it very effective.

I’d imagine it might have to do with the fact that your blood is salty. The salt water might match the salt content of your blood and thus keep fluids from entering or leaving cells at the site of the wound, which could damage the cells. Just my guess. I’ve wondered about it myself.

Water follows salt, so gargling with salt water helps draw some of the swelling out and relieves edema.

Salt water is hypotonic, and kills bacteria by drawing water out of them through osmosis.

When I have surgery (waiting on number 28 or 29, I’ve lost count), usually abdominal with decnetly sized incisions, I often bathe afterwards in salty water (fill up the bath and then dump in a large quantity of table salt). Been doing it since I was a baby on the recomendation of my paediatric surgeon (I’m 30 now). It definitely reduces the itchiness of the scar and seems to reduce the swelling (in comparison to showers or non-salt baths). Ofcourse, none of this is empirical evidence, but it’s been my experience.

IANAD, but in my understanding, the more important part of the classic salt water gargle is the warm, which increases blood flow to the gums and throat. And, yes, warm tea, coffee or broth (swallowed) has a similar if not better effect. At least that’s what I’ve been told by several doctors and nurses.