Russia plunders Ukrainian military equipment: Is there a legal basis?

Russia, not content to steal Ukraine’s land, is now plundering her military equipment.

This seems to me to be complete bullshit. Even assuming arguendo that the Russian annexation of Crimea is legitimate, any Ukrainian military hardware contained therein would still be property of the Ukrainian military, which should have the opportunity for an orderly withdraw to uncontested territory. However, I’m no expert on international military law. Does Russia have any legal basis for this, no matter how weak?

Russia is acting under the International Legal Principle of “What are you going to do to stop us, punk?”

There’s a fairly famous line by Pompey the Great, the Roman general, when he came into some city and started requisitioning provisions. The city complained to him that what he was doing was illegal, because the city had an ancient right to not have to provide supplies to the army. He answered, “Little man, don’t quote the law to me. We have swords.”

Or there’s the more recent quote by Mao: “Political power grows out of the barrel of a gun.”

But I’m sure that the Russians will invent some argument that they claim gives them the legal right to plunder Ukrainian property. And within a few days, we’ll hear it being parroted on this board.

That dude Obama (who might not be such a Communist after all) did something that might slow them down a bit. With the stroke of a pen, he directed the Treasury Department to black-list Bank Rossiya.

This article, from March 21, explains what that means and discusses how, and how badly, it will cripple a substantial chunk of the Russian economy. How Obama Crippled a Russian Bank with a Stroke of a Pen.

To be sure, this was only a couple days ago. I wonder how long it takes to see what damage really happens. Is this something that will have an immediate awful effect on Russia?