Rye whiskey is yummy!

Hit the local Bevmo this morning to restock the liquor cabinet. The bottle jockey who unlocked the Bourbon case grabbed a bottle of Russell’s Reserve Rye instead of the requested Russell’s Reserve . When I discovered his error, after returning home, I decided to take the hit and drink what I got.
Proof that God loves me and is rewarding me for my virtuous life. :smiley:

Yowsa! I has me a new favorite.

I’m not quite that classy, but my favorite everyday whiskey is good ol’ Old Overholt Rye. In my opinion, at around $13 a fifth, it’s perhaps the best whiskey bargain out there. I’ve been championing Old Overholt for about five years now, and it’s a nice change of pace from the sweetness of bourbons. Plus it’s nice in a proper old fashioned (which is made with rye.)

Gibson’s Finest, that’s my tipple. Cheers!

I also enjoy a fine rye. I’m with pulykamell that Old Overholt is quite good, especially for the price. And I recently sipped my way through a bottle of Michter’s, which was just lovely.

Mmm . . . rye. Yah, I need to grab me some of that.

Am I the only one who, upon hearing rye being mentioned, immediately thinks of the one Zork game? Return to Zork, maybe?

“Want some rye?! Course ya do!”

And unrelated, but always mentioned in the same breath:

“I need a new battery! Ya hear me?! A new battery!”

But enough thread-jackery.

How is rye different from other type of whiskey? If I had to pick my favorite affordable brands I’d say Maker’s Mark for bourbon and Bushmills for Irish. And gun to my head I get one for the rest of my life, I’m picking Bushmills.

So, how would you compare the flavor of rye to bourbon or Irish whiskey?

Jeff