Sales Techniques

I’m thinking about selling candles door to door (my mom makes them) for a little extra cash. But I’ve found over the years that I’m a terrible salesman. Does anyone with experience in sales, particularly the door to door variety, have any techniques they use to persuade potential customers to buy their wares?

Honestly? My best advice is don’t. People regard door-to-door salesmen with the same view as telemarketers – they didn’t ask to be sold anything and haven’t invited you to interrupt whatever activities of life they’re busy carrying out. YMMV, natch, and I’m sure some money can be made that way if you’re persistent enough.

I think a better bet would perhaps be putting notices on bulletin boards, leaving catalouges in employee lounges and doctors offices [if allowed], and the like.

I agree on the door-to-door thing. I don’t even open the door to anyone I don’t know, but if I did, and I was met with a salesman, I’d be pretty pissed. There are people trying to sell me stuff on TV, on the radio, at the movies, on the internet, and billboards as I drive down the street. Having what amounts to a telemarketer at my front door might drive me over the edge.

In my town, we have independent bookstores, “occult” shops, swap meets, street fairs, etc., and I’d try those things and things related to them if I were going to sell candles. Maybe you have opportunities like that in your town?

Direct sales-newspaper subscriptions was one of my first jobs. You need a good self image first, because interaction with the general public will tend to reduce it.

After years of direct sales, banging on doors in residential and commercial markets, you’ll either develop thick skin or die. I won’t recommend it for you because I don’t know your constitution. Some people can hear “fuck you” a hundred times a day and not be upset, while others will go home and slit their wrists.

I wish you well, whatever your choice.