Scottish Independence-Is it realistic?

I’m no expert on politics in the UK, but apparently it’s again a possibility. But by realistic I mean could Scotland survive on its own? And should they push for it? (Wish I’d kept in contact with my Scottish relatives to see what they think).

I believe they could easily make it on their own IF they rejoin the EU. Brexit has been a disaster for Scotland.

I don’t think rejoining the EU would help all that much (unless they persuaded the remaining, non-Scotland parts of the UK to rejoin the EU at the same time, which seems unlikely). Scotland leaving the UK and rejoining the EU creates a different kind of border with England that is then more costly to move goods. people and services across - basically they would be shooting themselves in the foot in the same way as the UK did in leaving the EU.

Tourism is a significant part of Scotland’s economy, and the significant majority source of that tourism is the rest of the UK. Make the border into a border with the EU, some of those tourists are going to decide it’s no less trouble to visit some other place in the EU for their holidays.

There is already an open border between Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland . Indeed, all the idiocy and denial of Johnson’s government was about him avoiding that reality, and Sunak eventually changed all the UK to make NI not different. So that applies too in a Scottish Border.

So rejoining the EU is absolutely in the plan, and possible, and survival is definitely possible, even in its beaten down decades low, Scotland is still larger than the bottom five states in the EU COMBINED.