SDMB Theatre People

Any theatre people here? I’m a Scenic Designer/Technical Director for a small community college in Washington State (the more fun of my two jobs)- and I also act on the rare ocassion.

Actress checking in. Theatre since the age of 5, shortly moving into film. Wish me luck!

I’m a sound designer and composer for theatre in Chicago. Used to be an engineer for one of our big ticket theatres and recently decided to try the freelance thing full time, so now I work mostly for the storefronts and am looking for any work I can find. Its fun being self employed, my recording studio is my attic, so the commute time to work is great!!! But also scary not having a regular check and paying my own insurance and the taxes are much more complicated.

I've been in theatre since I was a tot, acting from 5 years old till college then shifting gears to design.

great thread!!!

[Graham Chapman]
oh! oh! oh! the “theatre”…excuse me while I go play the grande piano!
[/Graham Chapman]

Is there a British colony in Washington that is opening theatres instead of theaters? :smiley:

I’m definitely not a “theatre” person (what’re you, Canadian?).

But as for theater, yes, I am a comedian (standup and improv), actor of vanishingly small distinction, and occasional puppeteer. And I’ve written some stuff. And helped to build sets. All here in Atlanta.

Do thespians count?

Former actress (summer stock, Off-Broadway). “I still AM big—it’s the THEATERS that got small!”

. . . Now a theater historian, and actual card-carrying member of the Ziegfeld Club. Anyone interested in bios of Nora Bayes or Eva Tanguay?

I was a theater person. Majored in technical theater in college, did a bit of acting… haven’t done any since college (unless dancing at a topless bar counts as theater? Well I was on a stage!)

I’ve always longed to be in the movies… but living in the DC 'burbs I somehow don’t see it happening.