Second question from a Roku noob

I have Dish Network and just recently bought a Roku 3. It’s installed and I’ve been playing with it, but … the input channel for the satellite is HDM1. The input channel for the Roku is HDM1. Because I’m a noob and don’t know what else to do, when I want to go back to the satellite feed I unplug the Roku’s HDM cable from the TV. I know you smart people out there can teach me alternatives! Is there a way to switch Roku to HDM2? Or is there a better answer?

Does your television set have more than one HDMI input? Sometimes there are additional inputs on the back, along the sides, or even in the front.

If so, plug the Roku into one of the other HDMI inputs. Then use the “input” button on your remote to change inputs until you find the one that you plugged the Roku into. Your Roku does not have to be plugged into any particular HDMI input. You can plug it into any one.

Yeah, you need another HDMI input on your TV. If not, and your TV and Dish both have RCA jacks, use those for the Dish, and leave the Roku patched into the TV’s HDMI input.

If the ‘source’ menu on the TV offers ‘HDMI2’ then there most probably is another HDMI socket on there somewhere - find it and plug your Roku into that.

It’s often the case that the HDMI sockets are located in different places on the TV, pointing in different directions - mine has two at the top corner of the back, pointing straight at the wall, and another under the bottom edge, pointing down.

By the way, it is an HDMI cable/port (Hotel Delta Mike India), not an HDM1 (Hotel Delta Mike One) cable/port. Took me a while to see that you’d written the latter, and I think this may be the source of your confusion.
Your TV probably has at least two, maybe three HDMI ports, labelled something like HDMI 1, HDMI 2, etc. All of these are HDMI ports, accepting an HDMI cable. Plug in your Dish network into one, the Roku into another, and use your remote to switch from one source to another.