Serious runners and aging

I consider myself a pretty avid runner. I do marathons once or twice a year, and have come close to qualifying for the Boston marathon. I’ve been running for about fifteen years.

Here’s the problem. I’m about to turn 32. Now, I know that’s not old, but the past year or two, I’ve noticeably slowed down. I used to be able to keep up a moderate job (say eight minute miles) all day long, every day. No problem. Now, I’m lucky if I can do an eight or nine mile run at that pace. I don’t recover from runs nearly as well as I used to. My speed is off considerably. Four years ago I did a five minute mile. Now I do a six minute mile at best.

Three years ago I was putting in 40 or 50 miles a week when not training for a marathon. Now, I’m lucky to be able to do 25-30.

I have no serious aches or pains. It’s not like my knee has given out or anything. I’m wondering if this is all in my head, or if this is a real physical manifestation of getting older.

When did you feel yourself start to slow down?

Everybody is different in this respect. There are runners still racing in the 80s. On the average, you will slow down as you age, but it also depends upon your training regimen. Should not be as much as you indicate, however.

I did not start running until I was 46 and ran daily for 20 years, hundreds of races, ten marathons (Boston twice). I actually increased my PRs for several years, and even when I hit 60, did not slow down that much. I my 50 and 60 age groups, usually managed to finish 1st, 2nd or 3rd. Even in my 60s my training runs were all sub-8 minute miles, and I put in 50 or mor miles a week.

I’d strongly suggest you get a complete physical checkup, as you should not be having this sort of trouble at your age. It strikes me that there may be something medically wrong, not necessarily serious, but well worth finding out.