Shattering glasses with the human voice?

With regard to the column regarding smashing glasses using voice harmonics , I saw this the other day.

Just a bit of fun.

Attention all new guests, please take note!

This post by Bubble is a perfect example of how to post in the SDMB for the first time. He/she posted in the correct forum, added some content, and provided a link to the column being referenced.

Bubble, you get a gold star, and are more than welcome to continue to post here and join us in the fun that we have.

Wooo!! Thank you! I’ll have to bring an apple to class on Monday for BBS2000 :wink: Can’t wait to show my mates my Star in the pub tonight…

I must admit that I was always mystified by the claim that bridges could be demolished by soldiers marching in step, although I enjoyed the command ‘BREAK STEP’ whilst in the boy scouts. As an engineer, I never saw a convincing mathematical explanation, and it seems highly unlikely that soldiers would be able to reach just the right frequency needed for long enough to demolish a bridge. Try:
http://www2.eng.cam.ac.uk/~gm249/MillenniumBridge/
and:
http://video.glath.com/view/mythbusters.Break_Step_Bridge,_Toothbrush_Surprise,_Rowing_Water_Skier

I lost the reference, but shortly before the bridge collapsed in Manchester, England, there was a similar case in France. And it seems that the engineer that designed the bridge found it a good idea to put the blame on the army instead of himself.

Anyway, ‘BREAK STEP’ breaks the monotony on marches, so why worry? Maybe army engineers will catch up with the rest of us some time in the next hundred years or so…

Huh. Obviously a sock.

:smiley:

In case it’s not clear - I’m kidding. I’m soooo kidding. Just joshin’. Love the newbie.

A sock! Love it :smiley:

Thirded! Bubble, please stay!

wot’s a sock?