Should teachers lie to students and encourage lying among students?

With the holidays fast approaching, I am reminded of when I was a student in primary school. Students were lied to by teachers about the existence of Santa. Students were also reprimanded for saying there is no Santa. Why should teachers encourage a lie? Schools should be a place of learning and we don’t need teachers lying to students. Why do we allow this lie to continue to be taught in our school?

Lying is not the equivalent of withholding information. Most teachers withhold pertinent information from children because they are not capable of comprehending the context surrounding the idea or even the basic principles of the idea.

In the case of Santa Claus, the reasoning behind the fabrication is two-fold. Firstly, it is part of the capitalist machine that has made the purported birth of Jesus Christ into a month-long shopping spree. Secondly, it is injected in order to create an aura of magic and joy into a child’s life around that time of year.

Christmas would not be the same for most people if you knew that your parents were giving you gifts (not some all knowing and all good jolly grandfather figure cough…GOD…cough).

Finally it might just be used to fool naive children into behaving in order to receive positive reinforcement on Christmas day.

All in all, lying about insignificant tales such as Santa of the tooth fairy is nothing compares to the brainwashing our children receive in almost every classroom in the world (including the USA).

I meant ESPECIALLY the USA.

Teachers don’t just withhold information about Santa not existing, they actively lie to students and say he does exist.

Yes, Oktberfest…there IS a Santa Claus.

http://www.ndeweb.com/cgi-bin/discus/show.cgi?tpc=38&post=595#POST595

I’d like to focus a little on this point.
What should be done to a kid that tells another there is no santa?
Punish them for not lying?