Should we sic the Gramman Nazis on T.S. Eliot?

Should it be:
LET us go then, you and I

or

LET us go then, you and me?

Someone is bound to correct me on this (or at least try). “Let us / let’s” is a cohortative construction. In this case, the subjects are made explicit in the appositional construction. Since the referent of “let us” is subjective in this phrase, it is necessary that this should be:

“Let us go then, you and I”

For everyone’s information: This is a great site to bookmark for linguistic references.

This is my first attempt at hyperlinking, so don’t ridicule me if it is all wrong.

Here it is

Sorry, the last link will only get you to the ‘A’ section of the glossary.

If we’re going to sic the grammar nazis on one poet, I don’t see what is stopping us from siccing them on a ton of other poets who broke obvious rules (see e.e.cummings).

Maybe we should [sic] them instead, to keep with the theme…

Anyway, when it comes to poetry the rules of grammar don’t have to apply. I believe this is called poetic license. :slight_smile:

Heh heh heh. You said Gramman.

T.S. Eliot thinks he’s famous because he’s a genius…

oh - that was my 100th post!

Seriously, dude. You thought “you and I” was wrong?

Now go reread that wonderful work of literature and write a not-less-than-10-page essay about its meaning for the next class.

Exapno Mapcase gave this assignment to you and me.
Exapno Mapcase gave this assignment to you and I?

This land is your land.
This land is my land.
This land was made for … you and I?

:smack:

But “us” corresponds to “me”, not to “I”. And you would say “let me go then”, not “let I go then”: first person imperatives are “let me” or “let us”.

There hasn’t been a cite given that shows why the second part, “you and I”, should be in the subjective case, and the first part “us” in the objective case.