sign language in the southern US- slower?

Assumptions:

1. The sign languages e.g. ASL, that are used by the hearing impaired are subject to regional dialects just as spoken language is.

2. US southern spoken dialects are slower than the dialects of the midwest and upper east.

Questions:

1. Are the dialects of sign language in the south slower too?

2. And if so, is it due to the slower speech of the hearing speakers who also sign, or is there something inherent about the south (culture or weather) that leads to slower speech, spoken or signed?

Thanks

Yes. Go to a mirror, hold up one hand, palm to you, fold down the 1st, 2nd, 4th, and 5th digits.

Why? I’m not asking this in bad faith. I’m a southerner who speaks slowly. I’m in the midwest. And I’m studying the implications of sign language in the court system. Not trying to piss anyone off.

flipshod

I don’t have an answer, but I don’t think this will end up being the case; ASL doesn’t have a southern accent, or any other dialectal influence; a word is a word is a word. And I’ve never seen any indication that ASL is paced in accordance with actual spoken dialogue, so I don’t think there’s any connection.

Ignatz. I’m gonna be charitable and assume that you didn’t realize that you were in GQ when you posted this.

Aside from being a rude post, you do know that you shouldn’t flame someone in GQ? Right?

Don’t do this again.

samclem GQ moderator

I didn’t. I went to new postings and did not notice GQ. I did think the post was dissing Southerners in general. I sincerely apologize.

Assumption number one is very correct. American Sign Language (ASL) is subject to a considerable amount of regional variation, so much so that there are signs which are used only at CSUN. It is also in a constant state of change. A new sign that recently evolved on the east coast, for example, is waggling an L back and forth while sticking out the tongue. It means ‘that’s awesome’.