Simple PERL programming question

This is probably trial, but I’m pretty new to PERL, and I can’t figure out what the neatest way to accomplish the following is:

I have one file that is a list of strings that need to be found. Let’s call it KEYWORDS.TXT. The file contains about 100 or so keywords that are listed in the format KEYWORD
. (That is, simply a word followed by a newline character).

I have another file that is a list that the text that needs to be searched. Let’s call it TEXT.TXT.

What I need to do is iterate over each line of text, and check whether it contains any of the keywords. So, basically, while (<INFILE>) if $_ contains an item from KEYWORDS.TXT print OUTFILE, else loop.

So, do I need to read KEYWORDS.TXT into an array and iterate through each item of the array for every cycle of the main loop? I’m not quite sure how all the I/O works in PERL, so I don’t know how to read this into an array.

Or is there some simpler solution I’m missing. I’m fairly new to this, so go easy on me. :slight_smile:

Well, you could do the double iteration, but another way is to read KEYWORDS.TXT into a hash.

Such as this:

my $keywordsHash;
$keywordsHash{$keywordsFileLines[1]} = 1;
$keywordsHash{$keywordsFileLines[2]} = 1;

and so on.

Then, when you’re reading TEXT.TXT, do this:

foreach (@textFile)
{
if (keywordsHash{_})
{
[print OUTFILE]
}
}

It looks like that would only work if your text.txt had one word per line. Otherwise, the key for your hash would contain the entire line and you would end up with a lot of false results.

If there’s more than one word per line of the file to be scanned, then I would do a double iteration. (please ignore my sloppy code, i’m writing this quickly, god i love perl :smiley: )

open FH, "<keywords.txt";
$i=0;

while(<FH>){
    $keywords[$i]=chomp($_);
    $i++;
}
close FH;