So how many young women did you know, college & high school, who disappeared after finding themselves pregnant?

I can think of 3 right off the bat. Just up and disappeared one day. One poor set of parents kept calling and calling me for information I didn’t have, since we’d been friends. 1st year college. She was afraid to tell them.

One, in HS. She was on track for Homecoming Court and Valedictorian.

The father? Homecoming King and champion quarterback. He didn’t miss a day or honor. The town didn’t see her again for years.

Yup.

I should add I graduated HS in 1967. For context.

None, but high school was post-Roe v. Wade.

Same age/time here. In Connecticut, the girls were taken out of school when they started showing. They could come back after birth the next school year, behind a grade. The fathers, no problem. So no actual disappearance, just removal. Two in my class and an additional one just squeaked into graduation with some altered clothes.

I was in high school in the 1980s, and my parents fostered a number of pregnant women who also in high school. They got pregnant and didn’t want to get abortions, or waited too long (not sure which) and got kicked out of the family home for being pregnant. In their cases, pregnancy was way of acting act. Overly simplifying the situation, I know.

There was one couple at my high school who got married when she got pregnant. She did go to an alternative high school after the baby was born, so she could breast feed and not miss class.

My sophomore year in college one woman went home after her first semester due to pregnancy. No idea if she was able to get an abortion, but her parents considered the pregnancy a reason for her to go to college closer to home. She lost their trust.