So I'm learning about buying bonds

Now that interest rates and bond yields are creeping up, I’m incentivized to do something with spare cash, rather than leaving it sitting on its fat ass earning nothing (or next to nothing in a savings account).

I like CD’s, but holding them for less than a year doesn’t earn much. In addition, if I were to suddenly need that money, I’d get penalized if I cashed out early.

So I’ve been trying buying Treasury bonds through my Schwab account. It’s actually pretty easy, and there are no fees appended to the transaction. I can buy three, six, or nine month bonds if I want to. I tried buying a three month bond and got my 2.2% yield when it matured.

What’s this I see on Schwab’s bond transaction page about selling bonds? Something about asking for bids. What’s involved with this? It’d be good to know if I have an emergency and have to get my hands on cash.

Who’s an expert in this field. Keep in mind I’m a newbie and I’m still struggling to learn the new vocabulary.

If you break a CD before maturity, you are dealing with the bank, and are limited to whatever penalties they have in the contract in order to get your money.

If you want the money out of most bonds before maturity, the bank, company, or US Government say tough luck, wait till maturity. So the only way to get your money out is to the sell the bond itself as a whole on the secondary market (IE to another buyer). For some bonds that secondary market is highly illiquid and you have to take a big haircut on the value of the bond to get it sold quickly. For US treasuries should be liquid, but how much you get on the secondary market will depend on what interest rates on Treasuries have done since you bought the bond.

Treasuries are called “Bills” for maturities less than 1 year, “Notes” for 1-10yr, “Bonds” only for longer maturities.