So I've become vegetarian... but he hasn't.

Not sure if this is a common scenario, but over the past 6 months I have slowly been becoming a vegetarian - still rely on a little bit of fish and cheese (worried about not getting enough iron), but ideally will be going lacto/ovo in time. However, have recently moved in with my boyfriend, who while very supportive, will not be giving up the meat. Has anyone else dealt with cooking for two different diets like this? In particular, he’s Italian, so his idea of cooking vege is pasta with a tomato sauce, and as we take it in turns to cook, means I get this several times a week. Looking for some compromise ideas here!

Any hints as to how to wean myself off the fish? This has been a good compromise food for the two of us, but as it’s for moral reasons that I’m doing this, the excuse of a less complex nervous system is a little thin.

Also, as I’m new to this, is there anything in particular I need to take into consideration especially with regard to iron? I eat lots of wholegrains and vegetables, but just feel I have a little less energy than I did 6 months ago.

I know one girl who isn’t exactly a vegetarian, but tries hard to avoid meat. However, due to anemia, she forces herself to eat a steak once a month and also eats a ton of spinach, for the iron.

Most of the vegetarian friends I’ve known have had families or roommates or significant others who aren’t vegetarians. Heck, most of them have held jobs at steakhouses in the past. Luckily, none of them have been militant, so they always make it work as long as everyone is respectful of each other’s dietary concerns. You’ll want to eat a lot of nuts and peanut butter and eggs and beans for the protein, like it or not.