So What's The Big Deal Over "Mein Kampf"?

It now is public domain and can be legally published in Germany. So what? It’s a 90 year old book, of interest (only) to historians. Most believe that Hitler wrote very little of it (Rudolph Hess probably wrote most of it. )
I tried to read it back when I was an undergraduate-I gave up-it is poorly written and incoherent… the only thing I remember of it was that Hitler blamed the Jews for syphilis (ironic, considering that an Jewish MD (Paul Ehrlich) invented the first medicine to treat it. Is the German government afraid that this foolish old book would inspire a new generation of Nazis? The book was always available from used bookstores in Germany.

I tried reading it once in college too, because I thought it might be somehow revelatory or something, but it just turned out to be really, really boring.

The biggest revelation from Mein Kampf is that Hitler just wasn’t very intelligent. Certainly not compared to Churchill, for example, who was a very readable author and noted as a wit in his own time.

Aside from not being very good, the book suffers from its hype. It isn’t this terrible grimoire of unfathomable evil, it’s the rantings of a frustrated revolutionary in a time and place full of them, someone who was monomaniacal and a good public speaker but not a good author. Even its content is superfluous to most people: We know what he intended to do because he got a chance to do it, and we know what the depths of his madness looked like because we saw it play out in reality. No work can live up to what really happened.