Social status of accountants

A little while ago I started going back to school to become an accountant. Before that, I worked in the cycling industry for several years, before that I went to college and received an English degree. I always pursued things I found interesting, and actually become very interested in accounting and economic and financial analysis after owning a small business - it became apparent that accounting was the backbone of a business and that, among other things made me interested in it. I actually didn’t know that the job prospects and earning potential were so good. Anyway, it seems as if different people I meet or interact with have different reactions when I say I am taking classes so I can sit for the CPA exam; especially interesting is the way non-accounting business faculty seem to view accountants - as if they look at is it as kind of lowly and technical; but then other people seem to respect accounting as something challenging and have about as much regard for a business degree or MBA as they would for an English degree(and I can’t recall anyone ever saying to me WOW you have an ENGLISH degree). Just wondering if anyone - especially any accountants out there could weigh in.

Social status? Depends on the society. In general I’d say accountancy is a highly regarded profession, pretty much on a par with being a lawyer or a banker. In the university, though, those pursuing accountancy studies might be seen as on a very vocational track, mainly interested in increasing their earning power, as opposed to those who breath the pure and rarified air of economics.

Thanks for the input - I think you articulated very well what I am perceiving, but I couldn’t quite put my finger on it.