Some Homebrewing Questions

1. How much does the initial investment cost to get an operation going from the ground up? (Assume for beer for personal stock, or to share with friends; not starting a commercial microbrew.)
  2. Disregarding the cost of initial investment, do you save money over the long run by brewing your own beer?
  3. Assuming you’re a complete novice with no knowledge of the process beyond what’s in the instruction book, can you still make a decent brew with off-the-shelf ingredients?
  4. How much space does a small operation take up?
  5. If you have the operation in your garage, and the garage door is open on a nice day, and the cops drive by, are they likely to mistake your operation for a meth lab?

Thanks!

Can I piggie back on your topic? After a tour of small brewery, I want to also try my hand at home brewing. Anyone have any good recommendations for a good starter kit? I don’t want to piece anything together, would prefer a kit that has everything I need to get started (except for ingredients).

1. I would think you could get started for $150-200 with a bottling kit. Lots of beer supply places have starter kits that pretty much include everything you need initially. Eventually you will find the stuff in the starter kit is not sufficient if you get into doing this more often–but as an initial start it is probably the cheapest way to find out if you enjoy the process.
  2. No idea, I don’t homebrew to save money. I do it because I enjoy it and enjoy making beer. Also depends on what kind of beer you drink. I love the fact that I can make a beer at home that is just as good, if not better, than a lot of commercial micro brews. I like sharing my beers with my friends as well.
  3. Not too much space, I keep my stuff when not in use on a shelf in the garage, when I have a beer brewing it is in a corner of my kitchen.