Someone up the corporate chain embezzled related to my work, and I am verklempt

whatever the hell that means…

One of our hospital’s corporate directors has just “resigned”. She is two levels directly above me, in other words my boss’s boss. That puts her fairly high up – in a staff of 3500, there’s about 40 at her level and only a dozen or so veeps and the CEO higher on the chart. By those of us below her it was universally understood she was a terrible manager and had some real psychological issues (to put it VERY kindly). But now we’ve learned she was also a thief, and I wonder how much of the first two items were real and how much they were a cover for her thievery.

We don’t know yet exactly how much she took, or all the means, or for how long she stole, and we may never know, but I’ll get back to that later. But one method we were told about directly involves me personally. I’m a media technician and I work on just about every corporate public event setting up sound or video or both. Before they hired me 3 years ago, they brought in a “consultant” technician, for those kind of events. By and large they used… her husband, who thay paid $150/hour to set them up. I worked with the guy on a couple of events on my first few months on the job, and he is actually a quite competent, capable guy. There’s no question he can actually perform the work he was hired for. Nevertheless, it became clear very quickly afyer I was hired that I could handle their technical needs. Even in the early gigs where they brought him in, he had nothing to do.