Soon I'll Be Too Disabled to Do My Job; How Screwed Am I?

I work in a warehouse. The job requires heavy lifting and some manual dexterity.

I’m also well into middle age, and I believe I am in the beginning stages of arthritis. The fingers on my right hand (my dominant hand) are cramped up at the knuckles, and it’s getting worse by the day. I figure at this rate I have maybe 6-12 months left before I’m all but useless for this type of work.

I mentioned this to my boss and asked for a transfer to a desk job (there are several desk jobs at this company for which I’m qualified). His response (paraphrased) was “You’ll do the job I hired you for or go look somewhere else. Now kwitcherbitchin get back to work.”

I have neither a union nor a contract, and since my boss is the son of the company’s sole owner HR isn’t really much of a recourse.

Is it time to start looking for another job? Is there some legal recourse available to me?

Your doctor will have to certify you as disabled.

Get on State Disability as soon as you can and apply for SSDI right after that, he process takes awhile.

Keep records, document, document,document.

State Disability depends on a number of factors. I think our office still only has a ~30% allowance rate.

That said, a lot of it has to do with your transferrable skills and ability to do other work, which is based on past relevant work and a number of other factors.

Go to your local SSA field office and file for disability. The process can take anywhere from 60-90 days, more or less depending upon how long it takes to acquire your medical records from your treating physicians.