Spanish "s" sound

Does anyone know how this dialect variant of Spanish came about, in which Spain Spanish speakers “lisp” their s (“Barthelona”), but Mexican Spanish speakers do not?

Please, please, please do not give me the claptrap about a king with a lisp and his followers, well, followed him. Unless, of course, you somehow have a factual cite to back that up. Which I find highly improbable.

Also, I am looking for facts, not “Well, it’s a dialect variant. These things happen.”

On this website, I found the following fact:

It seems logical to conclude that this written work greatly influenced scholars and probably did much to promote the Castellano dialect. I am not an expert, this is my guess.

It’s only c and z, not s. Barcelona, Zapatero but not España. Some Andalusians lisp the s in an attempt to overcompensate though.

Andalusia and all Latin Americans do not typically pronounce the c and z as ‘th’.

Why? No idea, sorry. :slight_smile:

You don’t want the picturesque but highly improbable legend. You don’t want the accurate but boring “these things happen.” I’m not sure you’ll get anything more satisfactory.

In case it helps, McMahon’s Understanding Language Change talks a lot about the mechanics of sound changes. She only cites some broad theories as to what motivates the changes in the first place, though, and doesn’t talk about Spanish c/z/s. Wikipedia has some information here, even if they incorrectly refer to the ætiological legend as an urban legend.

Yes, as noted, it’s only ‘z’ and ‘c’ before ‘i’ and ‘e’. As a result, one has ‘cane’, ‘corte’ and ‘culo’ (sorry, that’s the only ‘cu’ I can think of at the moment) but ‘cielo’ {thjelo} and ‘Barcelona’ {Barthelona}. Si, Senor is not {thi, thinjor}. That rather puts the kibosh on the story that the Prince had a lisp, unless it was like that Python sketch where the guy could only say ‘b’ for the letter ‘c’, but had no problem with ‘k’.