SQL Problem

I’ll se if I can explain this properly. I’m not that good at explanations.

I have a database table with titles and studios as two columns. It’s a list of cartoons and the studios they were developed at. The studios column (an integer value) is linked to a studios table. So we can get that with a join:

JOIN iad_titles on iad_studios.id = iad_titles.studio

But we also have a link table for associated studios with the fields titleNo and studioNo.

Now … ALL the cartoons are going to have a main studio listing. They may not have a listing in the associated studios But when I search for cartoons by the studio, I want to find all the toons that connect to that studio as well as all the ones that might have an associated studio listed.

Any ideas?

I would think all you need to do is to slap on a LEFT OUTER JOIN link_table on link_table.title = iad_titles.id and link_table.studio = ?

This is exactly what outer joins are for. I don’t know the precise schema of your tables, but something like this should do the trick

SELECT title FROM cartoons c 
JOIN studios s ON c.studio_id = s.studio_id
OUTER JOIN associated_studios as ON as.studio_id = s.studio_id AND as.cartoon_id = c.cartoon_id

friedo’s on the right track, but the join isn’t quite right (plus you’ll run into issues trying to use the alias “as” - that’s a reserved system word).

I think something like this is what you’re going for:

SELECT 
    Cartoons.title, Studios.StudioName, ascStud.StudioName
FROM 
    Cartoons
    INNER JOIN Studios ON Cartoons.studioNo = Studios.studioNo
    LEFT OUTER JOIN 
        ( AssociatedStudios 
          INNER JOIN Studios AS ascStud ON AssociatedStudios.studioNo = ascStud.studioNo
        ) ON AssociatedStudios.titleNo = Cartoons.titleNo
WHERE
    Studios.StudioName = @studioName OR ascStud.StudioName = @studioName 

:smack: