Statistics re: Teen Pregnancy and Virginity

Our local paper ran a column which included the following statistics:

40% of girls become pregnant at some time in their teens. (It didn’t specify, but I assume the range is 13-19).

90+% of parents surveyed said their teenagers were virgins (cite was “a pediatric study”).

Does anyone have a reliable cite for either of these figures?

I don’t have an answer to your request for cites, but I would certainly question the reliability of the parents information regarding their kids virginity.

It comes from a survey by CDC’s National Center for Health Statistics.

I’d have thought that was the whole point of the survey - to demonstrate that many parents are oblivious to reality

Yes, that was the point of putting the 2 statistics side by side, to point out the disconnect between what parents thought and reality.

The reason I want to look closer for cites is b/c the 40% pregnancy rate seems high to me. I admit I’m no expert, but would be interested to see what research backs that up. And the parent survey data seemed to be based on one study, always a dubious sign. With all the professors and grad students in all the world, you’d think there’d be more than one study on the topic.

Exapno Mapcase, I read your link and the further link to the CDC study pdf. I didn’t find anything on pregnancy or parental surveys, though. It seemed to be people self-reporting their behavior.

All this shows me is that at least 30% of teenage girls get IVF without letting their parents know.

A person that cites a random percentage or several random percentages as the base of their argument is lying or at least does not know what they are talking about (at least 90% of the time).