Straight Dope Electrical HELLLLP!!!!

Hi, I’m hoping someone can help me with my home electrical wiring issue. I’ve taken down an old ceiling fan and put up a new dual LED ceiling light fixture. But I can’t get it to work right… I’m a network engineer not an electrical engineer damn it! :stuck_out_tongue:

The full question/situation can be viewed in this image. I did it this way so that everyone can see it with minimal issues.

Please let me know if you have any suggestions that might help. Much appreciation in advance!!!

OK, TLDR (at least, not the whole thing), but I can tell you right off why the illuminated switch isn’t working. Those switches rely on a small amount of current passing through the lamp when the switch is in the off position. Your LED lamps present too high a resistance (or a very non-linear one) to illuminate the indicator.

I can live with the illuminated switch not illuminating. Not ideal but I understand the issue with that.

However… I would like both LED ceiling lights in the single ceiling light fixture to come on when I turn on the wall switch, and for both to turn OFF when I turn off the wall switch. So far I haven’t been able to get it to do this.

To be more clear: I have never been able to get the lights on the new ceiling light to work with the wall switch. Depending on how I connect the wires above, I can even get both of the two LED ceiling lights ON at the same time, but it is NOT controlled by the wall switch. It is just always on. When I take these LED lamp wires and connect them to the OTHER black/white pair in the ceiling box, which I assume has to be the pair controlled by the wall switch, the ceiling light NEVER lights regardless of what position the wall switch is in.

Some of your assumptions about the wiring are probably incorrect.