Street Sweeping: Why So Thorough? [incl link to Cecil's SD-Chi column]

So I’m relatively new to living in Chicago, and something that has struck me is that while all other city services seem to be lacking a bit, the street cleaning is still very thorough. Although it’s only halfway through the summer, my local street has already been swept three times. This is much more street sweeping than other cities I’ve lived in.

So is there something about Chicago streets that requires that they be swept regularly? Or is regular street sweeping just an attempt to get more fines out of inattentive car owners? (I’ve noticed that the signs go up at most two days before the sweeping begins.)

Here in Boston we get street sweeping twice a month.

Can’t really speak for Chicago, but everything that doesn’t get swept of the streets can quite easily get carried by storm water into the storm sewer system, and thence into (in Chicago’s case) the lake. Er, that’s where Chicago gets its drinking water from, is it?

Chicago’s sewers don’t drain into the lake, except during times of unusually heavy rainfall. There’s an elaborate system of tunnels and canals that eventually empties into a tributary of the Mississippi.

My street in San Francisco is swept twice a week, each side.

In Chicago the sanitation crews scatter rose petals on the sidewalks twice a day.

I don’t have a problem with the sweeping frequency. But I’d prefer that it wasn’t quite so random. When I used to park on the street, going out of town for a week meant taking your chances on getting a ticket, because you never knew when they were going to decide to sweep.

Then start over a half hour later to sweep them up.

Street cleaning in Chicago is not at all random. Each ward has a schedule for street sweeping. You can find the schedule here.

That’s a handy link, RayMan. Thanks.