Study Tips Requested

I’m currently studying for exams and working fulltime. I also have a 16 month old daughter and a strong desire to play Xbox 360 games when I have spare time.

As you can imagine, I don’t have a lot of spare time and I should be using it for study, not playing games!

Anyway, I’m wondering what others have found to be effect study methods.

The course I’m doing is entirely by correspondance. Basically, I’ve got a study text, a heap of practice exams and revision tests, and an email address for asking specific questions of an instructor.

For past exams I have used a flashcard program in which I pose questions and answers that I think will focus my learning in the right areas. I have come to find this less than desireable as some subjects aren’t necessarily open to that direct question/answer type arrangement and I also find myself spending more time trying to make a flashcard look pretty rather than adding content to it.

I do find that I learn better when I write things down, it makes me read the material more than once, and in more detail. My handwriting is not very good though (messy and slow) and I’m considering taking notes in MS Word.

My specific question is whether people have experience with taking notes by hand and on a word processor. Does the act of physically handwriting notes make it more effective than typing them or am I likely to get the same or perhaps improved value from using Word?

My non-specific question is, do you have any general study advice for someone with motivational problems (gaming instead of studying) and distractions (work, wife, daughter, dog, SDMB.)

I am acutely aware that I should be using the time I’ve spent writing this post studying.

Now I might go and have some lunch.

Writing by hand always cements my learning better than typing. YMMV.