Stupid cat. Advice for quickly healing a scratch?

I’m getting another tattoo in about 10 days, across my schoulders.

Last night, my cat decided that he absolutely had to snuggle up with me across my shoulders, but he’s a fat klutz, and he slipped, and grabbed at me to keep from rolling off of me onto the bed.

So now I have a lovely foot long scab across my formerly pristine shoulders, EXACTLY where I want my tattoo in roughly 240 short hours. It’s really shallow, but goddamnit.

Advice on healing quickly? Hydrate, eat well…

Polysporin or no?
Exercise or no?
Wash it often, wash it less often?
Supplements?
Vitamins?
Particular foods?

Goddamn cats.

And you say it’s already scabbed over. Tsk.

I am not a medical professional, just a multiple cat hotelier, but I would have suggested washing it before it scabbed, with 5-10% hydrogen peroxide and the same antibacterial soap you intend using on your fresh tattoo to prevent its infection. And then, yes, polysporin or “Triple Antibiotic Ointment” or some such to help your outer skin layer seal up.

Now it’s a matter of soaking the scab to soften it and let it slough off first…

Sorry, I should have clarified. I did get up and wash it with soap and water when it happened last night. I’m just wanting to speed the remainder of the process up. I’ve heard conflicting reports about topical antibiotic use, so I didn’t slather it up last night. I don’t tend to wash my cuts with peroxide or rubbing alcohol because I’ve heard it kills the good stuff along with the bad, and I’m not prone to infections (thank god, knock on wood, etc).

If you specifically want to avoid antibiotics (polysporin being one), plain Vaseline petroleum jelly will (a) keep the wound dry [which is what you want], and (b) encourage the subsurface cells exposed by the injury to transform into surface cells [and seal over the cut].

A gauze bandage taped over the wound will also protect it from further insult, such as outside dirt intruding before it seals.