Stupid Exams Mistakes Rant

I forgot to answer one 10 marks question. A question which I know the answer to. A question which I totally forgot about (it’s the very last) until I handed in the booklet.

The kicker? This is the third time, already!

Seriously…

So that I won’t be alone rolling the muck of self-pity, what are some other pretty dumb exam mistakes you have witnessed?

I once changed my answer on a multiple choice bubble sheet question – to the right answer – and got it marked wrong, because I hadn’t erased the wrong answer enough.

I went to an open book final without my book. I didn’t know it was open book, so I studied for it as if it were closed book. Unfortunately, when the prof knows it’s open book, he writes the exam differently, and expects more precise answers. Fortunately, I somehow got a B+ anyway, which was good enough for me.

On the bar exam, a friend of mine missed half the essay on one of the days. It’s one of those with a Part A and Part B. She finished Part A and then, since it was the last essay of the day, handed in her booklet and went outside for a smoke. While talking to another smoker, she realized (basically because he asked, “what’d you get for part B?”) that she hadn’t finished. She still passed the bar.

My genetics prof handed out two parts of the test (A & B), which I assumed were two
versions of the test (to cut down on cheating) so I didn’t bother to get part B. After
I got a 100% on part one, he came up to me and said he swore he graded my part B as
another 100%, but somehow lost it. Wasn’t sure if he was BSing me or was genuinely
confused; in any event it was the only class in my school career where I got perfect 100%'s
across the board for entire semester (otherwise)…

I arrived late to a physics class once to find everyone suspiciously focused on writing for a university class.