Stupidest thing you ever did to yourself

I’m not very experienced in the kitchen, but once in my bachelor days I tried making hamburgers or something that built up a lot of hot grease in the pan. Just after I turned the burner off, I figured it would be a good idea to drain the grease while it was hot. Of course I didn’t want to pour it down the drain, and I didn’t have any empty coffee cans available. Hmm, could I pour it into some kind of large cup . . . but I don’t want to ruin any of my good coffee mugs . . . hey! I’ve got a pack of large styrofoam cups, let’s pour it in one of those!

So I was standing in the middle of the kitchen with a styrofoam cup on one hand and a skillet full of grease in the other. And then I begin to pour . . .

They say you learn something new every day. In this instance, I learned that styrofoam melts immediately upon contact with hot grease.

That hurt.

Warm vinegarette dressing, with some fruit in it.

Fair enough.

Warm the oil. Ok…so into the skillet it goes to “warm”. And I read the instructions, blah, figure it’s warm enough (a bit bubbly now) and…

…dump cold balsamic vinegar into the warm (read, really very hot) oil.

Oil and vinegar, as it turns out, not only don’t mix, but hot oil will forcibly eject cold vinegar in a fine, balsamicy mist over everything. The oil will also mist and flee the skillet and land on the marble tile floor. Shiny marble tile floor, slick and clean.

Desperate to get away from the fine mist of vinegar smelling oil that was burning my skin and eyes, I toke a step on the afforementioned marble tile floor, which was now sprizted in a light coating of oil.

Did you ever see those cartoons where the cartoon guy slips on ice or something, legs akimbo, each going in a direction opposite the other, or sliding back into the other, generally ending with the cartoon guy trussed up by their own leg in some sort of knot or spiral pattern?