stupidly naive question about 'domains' (computer networking)

Stupidly naive, but I gotta ask it, because I don’t know the answer. And I should.

OK, I’m the IT person for a smallish company; I’m self-taught on just about everything, so there are occasional yawning gaps in my expertise; most of what I’ve done so far has been oriented around setting up/administering workstations & hardware, developing software, designing and administering databases, with a bit of peer networking and internet stuff thrown in.

I’m determined to exand my expertise on networking and servers - trouble is that there seem to be a few things that everybody just knows - I guess you must learn them really early on - it’s hard enough even to find out how to ask about it - because everybody just takes it all for granted.

OK, today it’s domains. I’ve sent myself on a couple of Linux server courses and they were great - I really understood about 95% of it and I’m quite happy pottering around with Linux now; a bit iffy on installing extra software on it, but that will come. I’ve set up a test server (actually running SME server, which is a very customised/simplified distribution of Linux specifically designed to act as a web/file server and gateway) and I’m playing with it. But I’m not exactly sure what it means when I have to define the primary domain for the server.

Please don’t laugh.