Stupidly simple things you always have trouble with

I’m in the (slow) process of finishing my astronomy senior thesis project. I met with my adviser today, and he asked me what a certain number of pixels was in arcseconds in one particular image. I knew the pixel scale, so it was a really simple thing to calculate. But for some reason, I always have a lot of trouble with these type of unit conversions. If there are .43 arcsecs per pixel, then how much is 7 pixels? That type of thing a 4th grader could do in their head, but I really embarassed myself today with how long it took me to figure it out. If I put it on paper and carefully write it out, I can do it, but this is the type of thing that I, having completed a physics degree, should easily be able to do in my head.

I have a theory that for every one thing someone’s good at, within that thing there’s one particular part of it that they still inexplicably struggle with.

I’ve been a nurse for 20 years. I STILL have to say, “snow over the mountain, red vs black” when I put cardiac leads on a pt. (white lead over green; red lead over black; brown goes in the “middle” of the chest). I do this even with a diagram in front of me. I do this even though I could do correct lead placement in my sleep. :rolleyes:

I have the world’s worst sense of direction. I can and have gotten lost in parking lots, both in and out of my car.

I have trouble with your basic “Left” and “Right”. If I’m giving you directions in the car, follow the pointed finger and not the words coming out of my mouth. :smack:

Give me any word with two c’s or two s’s side by side, and I will misspell it. If they are both present in the word, I stand almost no chance at getting the spelling right.

Firefox has an inline spell checker. For that, I am truly grateful.