suggest a job for a mute

What is a good job for somebody who can’t speak? Last March I had a total laryngectomy. So I have no vocal chords and cannot talk. I do have a robot voice translator, but nobody can ever understand what I am trying to say. And writing everything down just plain sucks.

I’m only 45 years old, so I have plenty of years ahead to make some cash. Right now I’m on disability, which actually pays more than my last job I had for 10 years! Which was substitute teaching. Can’t do that anymore.

My background is in teaching. I taught high school and college for a little while. Certified to teach in two states, which I never will be able to do. I have an MFA in painting, for the sole purpose of teaching at the college level. Is it possible to teach without ever speaking? My wife is a teacher, and says no. Love paying off those student loans for a career I’ll never have.

So any ideas? I’m sure they’re jobs for the silent, but how does the interview go? I’d prefer something with no human interaction, since co-workers love to hang out and gossip.

Any other mutes onboard here?

I’m not mute, but I can and do go many days without talking to anybody at work. I work 2nd shift at a datacenter. Most people are gone a few hours into my shift. And anytime an issue comes up, it is handled via email or text.

How are you at writing? Perhaps you could write or edit teaching material from your discipline, such as textbooks.

Teach online. Check with online universities and training companies.

Online chat-type help desk, but that’s probably going to pay in tumbleweeds.

Learn sign language and teach art at a school for the deaf.