Talk me off the ledge: Will AI destroy my industry?

I’m a writer for a mid-sized marketing agency. Lately all we can talk about is AI – what the new developments are, how we can leverage it, and (haha) how soon before it takes all our jobs?

I’m finding it harder to laugh about that last part after reading stuff like this.

In [30 minutes] the tools managed to do market research, create a positioning document, write an email campaign, create a website, create a logo and “hero shot” graphic, make a social media campaign for multiple platforms, and script and create a video.

That right there? We’d charge our clients at least $30K and take at least a month to deliver a launch like that. While I’m quite sure we’d deliver a better end product than the AI, how long before clients decide they’re better off having a single, in-house “AI QA” person who can curate and polish full AI-generated campaigns before lunch?

Please tell me why my job (and my whole company, full of people with whom I love working) won’t be obsolete this time next year.

I completely understand your concerns about AI potentially taking over your marketing job. However, I think it’s important to keep in mind that technological advancements have always changed the job market, and while they may obsolete certain kinds of jobs, they often create new opportunities as well.

For example, take a look at web frameworks. These have made certain kinds of programming jobs obsolete, such as manually writing every line of HTML and CSS. However, this has raised the bar for what’s considered minimally acceptable in terms of web development, and it has created more work for programmers in other areas, such as developing complex web applications.