teaching foreign language sounds to babies

I’m pregnant and due in January. I studied French as an adult and really struggled picking up phonemes. I know that younger children are much more likely to absorb new sounds than older people.

Are there any fun tapes, CDs, DVDs on the market that just teach language sounds to babies/small children? Ideally, I’d love a CD/DVD with fun, nonsense sounding songs that children could sing a long to that would give them a good basis in the SOUNDS of many languages.

Why not find songs in the actual language rather than nonsense sounds? I would think they’d be easier to find and more useful, too.

Do you have access to a public library? My library has a ton of children’s music on CD, in many different languages, free for check out. There is also Wee Sing Around the World.

Yes, if I could Do It Again, with the wonders of the internet, I’d order foreign language CDs and DVDs of kids books on tape and shows that actually exist in countries which speak those languages. It just wasn’t something I thought about at the time.

Hell, I might even be able to stomach Calliou The Whiny Bastard if it helped my kid learn French without the studying. (Calliou was originally in French; American shows were translated into English.)

So your goal is not to teach a foreign language, but to limit loss of phonemes? French is honestly not very different than English compared to other languages, and most aren’t too terribly hard to pick up. Maybe ø, possibly œ, and ʁ. Something like Polish has a lot which are alien to me. Japanese has many that maybe it’s unnecessary for an English speaker to learn even if speaking Japanese, but are subtly different (like “sh-” being pronounced breathy, ɕ I think).

This sounds like a good idea, but I think you might be up against biology in some respects.

Also, does Caillou speak French French? He’s Canadian, but I doubt he’s saying tabernac and hostie.