Telephone - DSL question

I’ve had ADSL for the past couple years at our house. We just moved and it is not available at the new one.

When I asked the installer why I couldn’t get it (he had to hook up the phone service, as the house was brand new) he said it was not the distance, but the type of line. Our old house is two blocks away from the new one but it is a 10 year old neighborhood. The new house is in a “new” neighborhood. The old house has “copper” lines and the new areas have “fiber” lines. He said DSL does not work on Fiber lines.

Now, I am not a phone expert by any means, but that just doesn’t make much sense to me. From my limited knowledge, I was under the impression that Fiber Optic lines are superior to copper based ones. He did mention that it is a “problem that is getting worked on” but didn’t elaborate.

Can anyone fill me in as to why it won’t/can’t work? Does it have something to do with the two signals (I think) that has to be run on a DSL line? (regular phone and DSL) that can’t be run on Fiber?
Thanks!

I’m confident that someone who knows this topic a lot better than I do will jump in shortly, but until that happens…

Yes, I’ve heard that many “new” neighborhoods can’t get DSL (as well as a lot of older ones) even though they’re close enough to the local CO. I haven’t heard this as being a case of fiber vs copper, but as being a case of multiplexed vs non-multiplexed lines.

Older neighborhoods were wired through to the local CO on a one-to-one basis. IE, a copper wire from your house to the CO would be just that - a single strand of copper carrying only your phone signal. That strand of copper is just fine for both voice line and DSL purposes.