Television-Now we'll NEVER know!

You are following a program where the plots revolve around a large mystery or two, and the damn thing gets canceled before the big reveal. For me, it was Nowhere Man, which was on UPN for one season. The intro was “My name is Thomas Veil, or at least it was. I’m a photographer, I had it all: a wife, Alyson, friends, a career. And in one moment, it was all taken away, all because of a single photograph. I have it; they want it; and they will do anything to get the negative. I’m keeping this diary as proof that these events are real. I know they are… They… have to be.”
Just as they were about to reveal what the big secret was, they canceled the show.

So, which cancellation drove you up the wall for this reason?

I liked Brimstone, because to me it seemed clear the Satan was going to try to doublecross our protagonist, but it always seemed like our hero had something up his sleeve.

-Joe

I think the worst one that I’ve personally experienced was the season finale of John Doe, which I’ll post in a spoiler since it was such a huge shock:

The big bad guy turns around just as John Doe has failed to catch him… and is revealed to (apparently) be his best friend. Was it really Digger? We’ll never know.

Pepper Mill disliked the cancellation of Alien Nation, which stopped right at a cliffhanger.
Of course, there were plenty of fans, so they resolved the cliffhanger in a comic book and a series of TV movies.

I didn’t care so much myself – I’d given up on the show much earlier, when I thought they’d squandered the premise.

Soap.

And don’t tell me about how Jessica appeared on Benson: that was just feel-good whitewash.

How about she actually went to hell, where she ended up playing a GILF opposite Tony Danza? Cuz that sure isn’t “feel-good whitewash”.

-Joe

That works, but still leaves the other plot threads unresolved. :slight_smile:

We never did find out–at least not from watching the show–what the hell Coronet Blue was all about.