Tell Me About Being An Independent Contractor

So I found out today, my second day on the job, that I am an independent contractor. My employer could be a lot more organized and forthcoming with this kind of information, but now I know. And I am kind of freaking out. I’ve never been an independent contractor before, and I don’t know how to do this! I need info.

Taxes- I always get the earned income credit, and I always get back what I’ve paid in and then some. Is it necessary for me to pay quarterly, or what? And how does one do that? I do not make enough to go out and hire a CPA or anything like that, so I have to figure this out myself. Also, I guess I can deduct my uniforms, mileage, etc?

Benefits- I was told at my interview that after three months, I would get a raise, and benefits. Now I’m thinking that’s not true. ICs don’t get benefits, right?

What else do I need to know, if anything?

You are probably the first fired if the company wants to save money or be more flexible. As a contractor, you will have fewer legal protections (hence the fact that companies love them), and it will be easier to fire you or cut your hours over a direct hire employee.

Also, you probably won’t get benefits. Are you contracted through a company that offers benefits? I don’t think most do.

You also probably won’t be invited to any company outings or get any company benefits.

You probably are not, actually, an independent contractor. Your employer is just trying to get around the laws that regulate what their rights and responsibilities are for employees (mostly, IME, payroll taxes and worker’s comp insurance).

From the IRS:

http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/article/0,,id=179115,00.html

Basically, in order to be an independent contractor, your employer cannot direct your work (including telling you when you can and can’t do your job), cannot supply the needed equipment for the job (you need to provide that yourself), and a few other things I can’t remember right now.