Tell me about changing out catalytic converters.

So the wife insisted on taking her new (to her) car to the dealer for an oil change. When she picked it up, they told her it needs a new cat for an estimated $1900. Now I haven’t see the actual quote yet so I don’t know what else us on there. But I see AutoZone has cats for 99 bucks. How hard is it to swap out? I’ve never worked on exhaust before, but I can swap out brakes, alternatives, starters, belts, plugs etc. I assume it’s just a couple of bolts on either end and some gaskets/seals. How likely is it that I’ll need a torch to cut it off (Which I don’t have)? What else?

2010 Honda cr-v
Fwd
What other info do you need?

Thanks in advance.

You’ll need to spray the bolts with penetrating oil.

Video - of replacing a Honda cat. Its not your exact year and model.

Is your car accelerating ok? A clogged cat will make a car sluggish.

She won’t let me drive it, so I dunno. Thanks for the link and advice tho.

I’m not sure how much a factory replacement costs. I wonder if that shop was replacing the oxygen sensors too?

I’m not seeing enough labor, in the video, for a $1900 repair .

An air impact wrench will be a big help.
Depending on how badly rusted the bolts are, you might just want to cut through them with a demolition saw (or hacksaw), and put in new bolts.

I’d confirm the diagnosis of the failed converter before I did anything. Eight years seems like an early failure of a cat, but there may be an underlying issue with the engine that caused the early failure. Simply replacing the converter without addressing that issue may ruin the new converter in short order. Looking at the quote may clarify all the work involved.